Home

ever wondered what it’s like backstage in the costume department at the theatre?

i was roped in by actor / director hossan leong to style his latest theatrical production, A Singaporean in Paris, and dug deep into my album of memories from living in the french capital to put together a wardrobe inspired by classic french style.Image

the musical is set in a parisian cabaret peopled by ‘foreign talents’ from australia, iran and singapore , and stylist audrey ong and i had fun referencing iconic french designers the likes of sonia rykiel, jean paul gaultier, christian lacroix , yves saint laurent , thierry mugler , claude montana and christian dior when piecing their looks together. i also dug deep into my own fashion archives for vintage pieces from junior gaultier and agnes B, as well as early-day pieces from versus , dolce & gabbana , zegna and british menswear label burro to dress the cast  Image

here’s a sneak peek at the actors getting used to the costumes at rehearsals …ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

and at the full dress …. ImageImageImageImageImage

accessories complete the looks ImageImage

backstage with the tools of the trade – a canon printer for instant print-outs at fittings , garment charts , cue sheet and running order ImageImageImageImageImage

one of the pieces that was dropped from the show, barely 3 hours before opening , because the actor decided he couldn’t move in it Image

here’s a peek at the photo shoot for the campaign posters . I dressed the cast in pieces from  the N. Tyler autumn-winter 2014 collection , and hossan in a red suit with gold stars by coupe cousu , the perfect outfit for hanging off the eiffel tower ImageImageImageImageImageImageImageImage

i also worked closely with singapore labels reckless ericka , saturday , odds , still , cruise and revasseur , and couturiers frederick lee and thomas wee , to complete each character’s wardrobe ImageImage

A Singaporean in Paris runs from the 11 – 23 march 2014 at the SOTA theatre. go catch it if you can … and do let me know how many vintage pieces you manage to identify from the show !!! have fun ! ImageImage

5 thoughts on “a backstage pass

  1. I am extremely impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your weblog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this
    one these days.

  2. Hey there! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe guest writing
    a blog post or vice-versa? My blog discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I
    think we could greatly benefit from each other.

    If you’re interested feel free to send me an e-mail.

    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  3. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter
    a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the
    head. The issue is something that too few folks are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my search for something relating to this.

  4. Nice post. I learn something new and challenging on sites I stumbleupon everyday.
    It’s always interesting to read through content from other writers and
    use a little something from other web sites.

Leave a Reply

